The Coat

 

 

 

 

“Where’s my coat? Who took my coat?”

“I don’t know. Mike’s at the store, maybe he did.”

“I gotta go. I need my coat.”

“Relax man, he’ll be right back.”

“You’re not understanding. I’m going to be late. He has his own jacket.”

“Chill man, he’ll be right back.”

“Why didn’t he use his own?”

“I don’t know. Why are you freaking out?”

“This is bullshit! I gotta go, man!”

“I’ll lend you mine. It’s cool.”

“I can’t wear that! I’m in a suit! What’s wrong with you?

“Check this out, man, mine is here.  It’ll keep you warm. It’s your choice.”

“I gotta go. My boss won’t understand that my stupid roommate took my jacket to the store real quick.”

“Dude, I’m done with this conversation. Take mine or don’t.”

“What is wrong with people that they can’t wear their own clothes?  Why does everyone need to impede on me?”

“It’s not all about YOU!”

“How the fuck is my jacket being taken by someone else without permission at the exact moment when I need it most, not about me? Can you explain that one to me?”

With that he walked out to his car without a coat. He was shivering by the time he got in his car. He kept reminding himself to get the autostart to get the engine warmed up before we walked out. Now he would have to freeze in only his suit until the heat was ready. Each moment he shivered, he hatred for Mike further increased. He was seething before he felt any heat at all.

volkswagon-698531

9 thoughts on “The Coat

Leave a Reply

