I Once Went Looking For A Poet

library-922998.jpg

I once went looking for a poet

Greater than Bukowski’s dead ghost

Pouring out a splash of scotch

Dreams of the distant Western Coast

The classics left me feeling passรฉ

Champing at the bit for a place to belong

Needing the real, raw, avante garde

I’ve finally realized, you’ve all been here all along!

I came to the realization recently that my favorite poets are among us here on WP. We may never get rich or famous from our words, but I adore this community we have built. Thank you all for sharing your words, thoughts & lives with me. I am a better person for it. ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ˜€โœ๐Ÿป๐Ÿ““

 

*previously published on former blog

22 thoughts on “I Once Went Looking For A Poet

      1. Ha! Bukowski has been such a let down for me. So many people have recommended him, but I just don’t get him. There are many others just like him.

        Like

  1. You make me think, laugh and just smile like an idiot every day. Thank you, dear poet friend. (I sneak the classics in from time to time as well) ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 2 people

      1. You always do! I’m so happy to have found such talented and humorous souls๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

        Like

  2. I feel the same, madness fueled by creative genius in disguise! Oh wait…or maybe that’s just me. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Cheers to you, may your pencil always be as smart as your wit! ๐Ÿป

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol…and here I was being clever and didn’t even know it. Typical. Have a fabulous weekend. I’m going to try my best to find some trouble to get into.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

